Art in the Abstract – A Letter and More Commentary

Posted on January 6, 2010

7


It isn’t every day that I get a resounding response to a blog. I have now had two that have created lots of communication, and one that has garnered lots of attention. Art in the Abstract was a blog that I wrote from a passionate place as a local artist, theorist, lover and philosopher. To be completely frank, this topic has stunted my writing for a while as I have not said everything that I have needed to on the subject. I have had long conversations with several arts people, theorists, lovers and philosophers, and similar things resound with us. You can be guaranteed that this isn’t the last time I treat this topic… It is boiling now below the surface and is in the hearts and minds of many. Artists are not objects! We are not the products even though we have to market ourselves as much as we do our art. Our names, our images and the products of our souls are up on the auction block – people rarely buy art for the art itself, but rather for the name. People don’t talk about a specific piece they bought or saw but rather refer to it through the name: “She bought a Picasso” or “We saw a Warhol”. Even the nature of some art seems deliberately made to exploit that postmodern divorce between art and piece: like a Warhol print – mass-produced, often a simple print, and valuable because the legend attached to it. Being in on the joke and creating for the sake of exploiting postmodern phenomena is one thing (being the subject). Being the object of alienating exploitation is another.

Another point: artists in this community have marketed themselves to the point of being significant on a large scale. With several emerging artists in all disciplines, three major contemporary festivals and a culmination of talent that is rarely seen in a city this size, I would say the artists here have done very well for themselves without the condescending hand of being told they can’t grant write or do business. The fact that the business community and bureaucrats are taking notice now is rather telling of where they sit in the creative process… and it has to do with making money. Culture as a commodity. Not culture as something of beauty, something natural. Whether that commodity is the increasing of status, or money itself, that is where this is angled. I can almost hear Theodor Adorno rolling in his grave at the implications of this phenomenon. The postmodern freakery of every last thing, including the most sacrosanct parts of community being used as a bargaining chip, a piece of meat, yet another thing off which someone can make a buck is truly a loss in some of the greater aspects of being human.

A letter I received:

“I’m reading your blog again about our culture camp experiences. I still find your blog to be the most relevant to my experience.

“I think some of the main concerns during my conversations with the “business minded” revolved around the idea that artists are less savvy business/marketing people-hence the need for the prosperity council to fund art-related industries. I feel that artists are excellent business people that work hard to promote themselves in a highly competitive world with very few funding opportunities available to them.

“As an emerging contemporary artist, I am learning an abundance of new skills related to a practice which is both extremely personal and difficult to market as a commodity. I’ve managed traditional types of businesses in the past and my art practice tends to be multi-faceted. Most of my income is gathered from a combination of events and activities which are spin-offs from my art practice. Such as art instruction, grants, community art events, and artist talks. Only a small portion of my actual artwork results as direct income such as artist fees from public art galleries. My work is extremely large and not currently for sale.

“In my community, artists have cornered the market on DIY marketing. We create our own websites, marketing material, have business cards and are effective grant writers. If the money was given to cultural and marketing industries, I wonder how much (if any) of the prosperity council’s money would actually reach the painters, sculptors and installation artists?

“Some during the culture camp discussions suggested grant writing workshops could potentially help artists succeed. Grant writing workshops are a novel idea to help emerging artists however, there are still only a small amount of grants available for the creation of artwork. Artists are constantly fighting over the same tiny slice of pie.

“I would rather have this money invested in facilitating an environment to help artist directly make their work. Such as the need for good studio spaces in the area, more grants for art projects, the development of more art projects and the creation of an artist-run centre. All of which help us create our work and offer spin-off potential for employment and other sources of income.

“These are just some of my thoughts!
Keep writing good stuff!

Ann H.”

Posted in: art, unconference